Frequently Asked Question For Your Wedding Photographer

You asked for it so here it is! Here are some Q & A all in one place!

What makes you different from other local photographers? Why should someone hire you?
Photography is my passion, therefore, I strive to make every photo turn out wonderful for you. I go above and beyond to get the perfect shots. I want to make your memories last a lifetime!

How quickly will I receive my prints?
You will receive a proof disc within 2 weeks. From the date you order the prints, you will usually receive them within 2 weeks. If a memory book is involved, it may take up to 4 weeks to receive it due to processing time.

How many pictures do you take? Can I provide a list of posed photos for you to take?
With an average 5 hours of coverage, I usually take between 750-1000 photos. Yes, you may provide a list of posed photos that you wish to be taken.

How would you describe your photographic style? What does this mean?
I would say I have a more contemporary style. Contemporary photography is a blend of photojournalistic and traditional styles, kind of the best of both worlds. Contemporary photographers are said to be more artistic and creative in that they are often thinking in terms of design and beautiful compositioned backgrounds.

How far are you willing to travel? Is there a travel charge?
I travel within a 50 mile radius free of charge. Anything over 50 miles, a travel charge is added.

Can we request both that both color and black & white photography be used at the wedding?
Yes, that is perfectly fine.

Do you bring an assistant to the wedding to help coordinate portraits?
Usually I do not have an assistant. It is a very rare occasion that I do.

Can I keep the negatives? the proofs? Is there an extra charge for this service? How much?
Yes, you keep the proof disc for yourself, so when you need to reorder any prints, you may bring the disc back in, or share with family and friends for them to order. There is no additional charge for keeping the disc.

What kind of equipment will you bring with you? Do you bring backup equipment?
I bring my Sony A57 as my main, along with a 18-55mm lens and a 75-300mm lens. I also carry a backup Sony A200 and a backup 18-70mm lens.
What new ideas have you implemented in the last couple years? Are you current with latest trends?

Will you be taking digital photographs? Is there an extra charge for this service?
I only do digital photographs. So, there is no additional charge for digital.

Can guests view and order shots on-line? How soon will the photos be put on-line?
I currently do not have the full ability for online viewing. I can do a few photos for online, but not the entire shoot.

What is included in your basic wedding packages?
In basic packages, I include less coverage time and a set print credit per package price.

What is your event cancellation policy?
The deposit is non-refundable.

What are your standard payment terms? How much is the deposit?
The deposit (retainer) is 30% of your package price and is non-refundable. Standard payment terms are 30% deposit and the rest due at the time of the wedding.

Who exactly will be taking pictures at my wedding? Do you use subcontractors?
I will be taking all photographs. I do not work with subcontractors.

How many months in advance do I need to reserve your services for my wedding date?
Typically to ensue I am available for your date, the sooner the better. I recommend no less than 6 months, but prefer 9+ months in advance.

One thought on “Frequently Asked Question For Your Wedding Photographer

  1. Wedding photography is a bold pursuit. Too bold for myself. This is a concise and informative FAQ list. Elements of which could apply to any event photographer, I would imagine. Well done.

Leave a comment